My relationship with coffee :)

Healthy Changes.

Unknown-3

My relationship with Caffeine has always been there.   Before i had a baby i could take it or leave.  I enjoyed the caffeine high especially before exercise or teaching a class, or in social situation to get my chat meter up.

Unknown-1

But after having a baby i noticed.  That i stopped being a social coffee drinker and started to use it to feel awake.  Having a baby sometimes they sleep through the night but other times not so much.   I began to notice the thoughts ” i need a cup of coffee” started to enter my head rather than the coffee sounds yummy.   I love to feel free and i realized that i had become addicted.   Which I never want to be addicted to anything.  I want to be in control of my choices.  So idecided to stop cold turkey and not drink coffee for 1 month.

Unknown-5

Things i noticed prior to going cold turkey:

Unknown-2

1.  It was taking more and more coffee to get my “awake feeling”

2.  At night even when i was very tired i could not fall asleep in fact.. my sleep walking was at an all time high

3.  I was moody.   I would go from highs to lows feeling great to feeling just exhausted.

What i did during my coffee detox:

1.  Drank more green juices.

2.  Took naps when my baby nap ( instead of cleaning the house,  grocery shopping or checking Facebook : )

3.  Just excepted that some days i was going to very very tired.

So after a month went by i felt pretty good.   So i decided to flirt with caffeine a little to test the waters.   I started out just having a cup of green tea here and there..  Perfect!  But than after a few more weeks when i knew i was going to start teaching. i craved that wonderful coffee high.

Unknown-4

However i had no interest in the negative affects that i had experienced before.  So i set up some ground rules.   Only 8 ounces of coffee on Tues/Thur when i teach.   Then on the weekends if i want caffeine a cup of green tea or black tea.. but no coffee.

I have been doing this for over a month now.. and i am so pleased with my healthy change.   Awesome benefits:

1.   I feel awake in the mornings without caffeine

2.  At night i have been having wonderful dreams and entering deeper sleep and have no trouble falling to sleep or going back to sleep after getting up with my baby girl.

3.  My moods are even and good.

4.  I only need very small amounts of coffee to feel its wonderful effects of alertness, energy, and delicious bean taste!

If i ever need to completely give up the stuff its nice to know that i can.  But i am really happy to find a good relationship with caffeine rather than depending on it to feel awake.

As the old saying goes

Unknown-6

Leave a comment