Eat what you want..

Metabolism.

So we all have one.  There is always talk about rev up your metabolism.  And basically i don’t think about it.   Until i start having some craving or wanting to over indulge in foods i love.  But guess what?   Happy times for me, because this amazing thing happens when I do.

The shifting calories method is not a new discovery. It works on the principle of our metabolism getting used to the type and quantity of food we intake on a daily basis. By changing what and how much you eat, your body doesn’t get used to any routine. This causes your metabolism to remain high and your body to burn more fat faster and more efficiently.

MMMM FOOD

So its cool because its like a reward for deciding to indulge.  I am not saying that I should deprive myself and then just binge or something.   But rather if one day I eat more than I normal do or decide to indulge in a fantastic dinner or dessert that it will actually be guilt free if a majority of the time I am eating healthy meals.

I actually stumbled into this a few years ago when i was getting into a healthier life style and trying to lose weight.   I was being so disciplined and perfect.  But i had stopped loosing weight.  However one day i went to a picnic had lots of foods, (still good food, just lots of it) and some desserts.  Then expecting to see a gain on the scale the next week i had a huge loss.   So the shifty calories thing is the real deal.

EAt Real Food not Fillers and artificial Flavors!!  

It’s cool.   I will say again i never deprive myself of anything.   If i want a cookie i have it, or if i want a second helping of food i get it.   But i listen to my body.  The key to healthy eating is eating real food and as a result I get full.   If i were to eat foods with chemicals or preservatives in it.   I would just be deceiving my body with the chemical hang over of just craving more food but never feeling full.

* ( i know this from experience.  My husband and i cann’t believe how much food we used to eat but never feeling full.  Now that we have switched to real food we get full really fast)

(example home-baked cookie (perhaps even with whole wheat flour and organic raw sugar) over a little Debbie crazy shelf life cookie with artificial flavor, colors, and HFCS)

I CRAVE HEALTHY FOODS!!

That said most days i really crave healthy food.  This might sound odd but its true.  I crave oranges, salad, and even wheat grass.  Once you start giving your body good nutrition it craves it… and once the chemicals are out of the diet it becomes a lot easier to listen to the body and know when to stop eating and when your truly full.

WARNING

* Don’t go to crazy.  Don’t be a piggie everyday.  If I  give my body too much cane sugar I will crave it more and more.    I always make sure to have more beneficial sugars like  100% Maple syrup, agava nectar, stevia, 70% cocoa dark chocolate, fruits or raw honey to indulge in  for desserts and this keeps my body in balance with cravings.

( natural sugars are more satisfying and filling than processed refined sugars)  Plus natural sugars like the ones listed above have nutritional value rather than empty calories.

So enjoy life and eat wonderful filling amazing Food.. i know i will be :).

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ayse said,

    You know, you are a real inspiration, don’t you? : )

  2. 3

    Elizabeth said,

    Great info KBG! Metabolism is a tricky thing and you explained it very well! It is tougher for some of us not to be a piggie every day.. but I’m trying! 😉

  3. 5

    […] I do plan once she is older teaching her about how she can have treats in moderation falling my philosophy that i wrote about previously called ” eat what you want“ […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment